Olympics Training Playlist

I’ve started my Olympics training for Rio 2016. It’s a little early, but you’ve gotta start somewhere, right? I haven’t decided if I’m going to compete in tennis,  canoeing, or fencing, but it’ll probably be one of those sports. I was on the tennis team in high school and won approximately 23% of my matches. BUT I was pretty much a pro at canoeing as a Girl Scout. BUT BUT I also went to two fencing club practices on campus a few years ago. Pretty much I’m equally qualified for all three sports, so it’s a toss-up as to which one I’ll choose. I guess I’ll just train for all of them over the next few years and let my overall skillz be the deciding factor.

While I’m figuring out which sport to compete in, I’m gonna keep getting in tip-top Olympics shape by running. Here’s my Olympics Training Playlist to get me motivated:

  1. “Start Me Up” by The Rolling Stones: I stole this song from that one Olympics commercial that shows all the athletes competing and being fit and stuff. Plus, there’s no better way to get workout-inspired than by listening to Mick Jagger.
  2. “Walking the Dog” by fun.: This song has the perfect amount of upbeat quirkiness to get you excited about walking a dog running.
  3. “Everybody Talks” by Neon Trees: I just can’t stop loving this new single from Neon Trees. That’s all.
  4. “Gravity” by Stephen Kellogg and the Sixers: SK6rs help me fight gravity and run faster with this catchy tune.
  5. “Taper Jean Girl” by Kings of Leon: The steady beat of this song sets a good tempo as I settle into the middle part of a run.
  6. “Don’t Stop (Color on the Walls)” by Foster the People: Because sometimes I need some encouragement to keep going.
  7. “Boyfriend” by Justin Bieber: Even though Justin Bieber isn’t my One True Love Justin Timberlake, this song kind of makes me forget that for like three minutes, and I can imagine that JT hasn’t forsaken his music career and that I’m exercising to get into awesome shape for him. Plus I like the way the Biebs counts down “three, two, SWAG.”
  8. “N***** in Paris” by Jay-Z and Kanye West: Probably the best workout song ever. And perfectly placed in the playlist to power through the last and hardest part of the run.
  9. “I Feel Better” by Gotye: Because this is what I say when I’m finished running, and because Gotye’s voice is so dang beautiful.
  10. “Good Time” by Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen: This song just makes me wanna dance, which is a pretty good way to cool down at the end of a good run.

Basically an Olympic fencer.

What’s your go-to Olympic training song? Which sport do you think I should compete in?

2 responses to “Olympics Training Playlist

  1. Pingback: Picks Of The Week: Olympics Edition, Part 2 « Chloe M. O'Connor | Layout, Illustration, and Freelance Design·

Tell me what you think.

